Program Information
Accounting Hall of Fame

The Accounting Hall of Fame was established at The Ohio State University in 1950 for the purpose of honoring accountants who have made or are making significant contributions to the advancement of accounting since the beginning of the 20th century. Through 2015, 93 leading accountants from the United States and other countries have been elected to the Hall of Fame.

While selection to the Hall of Fame is intended to honor the people so chosen, it is also intended to be a recognition of distinguished service contributions to the progress of accounting in any of its various fields. Evidence of such service includes contributions to accounting research and literature, significant service to professional accounting organizations, wide recognition as an authority in some field of accounting, advancement of accounting education, and public service. A member must have reached a position of eminence from which the nature of his or her contributions may be judged.

Elections to the Hall of Fame are made by a Board of Nominations consisting of up to 50 eminent accountants from each of the following three groups: public accountants, educators, and industrial and governmental accountants. The presentation of the certificate usually takes place at the annual meeting of the American Accounting Association.

One distinguished accountant was inducted into The Accounting Hall of Fame on Monday, August 10, 2015 at the American Accounting Association Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

Accounting Hall of Fame Committee Chair

Professor John Fellingham
406A Fisher Hall
2100 Neil Avenue
Columbus, OH 43210